New Brighton On A Sunny Day

After the festivities and fun of Christmas I needed a breath of fresh air to blow the cobwebs of self indulgence away. Plus I needed to take a selection of photos of the local rail network for an ebook I’m working on. From where I live on the edge of the Merseyrail network the journey out to New Brighton is not a long one. Part of the network, the rail loop under Liverpool city centre is closed for rebuilding but a very efficient bus substitution is in place so I got to see parts of Liverpool and Birkenhead I don’t normally pass through from the top of a double decker bus. It’s the big kid in me as in my area double decker buses are now very much a thing of the past.

I picked up the rail service again at Birkenhead North as was in New Brighton within twenty minutes. I took the station shots I needed, they were ‘In Case Of ‘ shots just to make sure I had covered the station thoroughly. That done I decided it was time for something to eat. New Brighton railway station sits on the high ground above the promenade at the top of Victoria Road, the main shopping street which leads down to the site of the now demolished pier, once served by the famous Mersey Ferries, which still criss cross the Mersey but sadly no longer serve New Brighton.

A little bit pushed for time, I always am (promise to self in 2017 be more organised), I dropped into the Morrisons Supermarket and had a sandwich and a coffee, both very good. I like these sort of places with the people watching and the unsought-after but always interesting chances for conversation. I also took the chance to catch up on the note making for my day so far. The Supermarket is on the promenade, perhaps not everyone’s first choice to put a shopping area but it does bring some activity and life to the area. The sun was still beaming down from a clear blue sky so I took a walk along the prom, watching the shipping making it’s war in and out of the still busy Mersey river. One of the New Brighton attractions is the Fort, designed to keep the area safe from invasion by Napoleon, seeing service through to WW2 and now open to the public. It features in the header image. Another scene which caught my eye was the large, off shore wind farm built on Burbo Bank, one of the sandbanks which guard the estuary entrance. I know that wind farms are something which divide opinion but there appearance did have a dreamy quality, spinning silently on the horizon in the sea haze.

dscn1725

The Burbo Bank OffShore Wind Farm

New Brighton Information

Fort Perch Rock Information

MerseyRail Travel Information

My Electric Bookshelf

My Portfolio

Mersey Ferries Information

Leave a Reply

